2016 Whale Photography Exhibit at the Montage Kapalua Bay in Maui.

This portrait was created on what turned out to be my last day of whale swimming in the 2015 season.  During the swim I had stomach discomfort that turned into a burst appendix which let to an emergency evacuation and surgery.

Eye to Eye ©DJH DJH_4080                                                                               “Eye to Eye”

I floated for 70 minutes with this mother and calf.  Several times the mother swam within a few inches of me to see how I would react.  Once she was satisfied that I meant no harm she relaxed even more and allowed the baby that had been on the far side to swim over the top and check me out.  While that was incredible it was the moment the mother and I were Eye to Eye that I will never forget.

This portrait is one of a kind and I will only produce one.  Talk about exclusivity.  Call 808 870 3686 for information or purchase.

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in art for decor, bucket list adventure, Dive with a Photo Pro, fine art photography, Gallery, guided dive trips, guided photo tours, humpback whales, incredible adventure, Maui Photo tours, Nikon, once in a life time, photo tour and workshop, photography workshops, scuba diving travel, snorkeling adventure, whale art, whale photography workshop, Whale swimming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

