Crayon Whale Art by Children from Maui’s Upcountry Montessori School

Just recently I did a presentation on whales at a local school.  In attendance were about 130 kids ranging from 5-11 years old.  I have dozens of presentations like this before but I never had as much fun as this one.   These kids were listening, participating, and asked incredible questions.   Towards the end of my program I pulled out four photographs and signed them.  I told the kids that each one of them that made me a whale drawing would have their name put in a hat and later, the teacher would pull four names out and those kids would receive one of the photographs.

Whale Art from Children at Maui schools

Whale Art from Children at Maui schools

This week I got the children’s art work and was so impressed.   This is just one of the pictures.   More to come!

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in art for decor, childrens art, education, maui, Travel, whale art, whales and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crayon Whale Art by Children from Maui’s Upcountry Montessori School

  1. Yes, in my experience kids are indeed the most engaged audiences… and most fun! Great idea asking them to create their own whale art… looking forward to seeing the next installment!

Leave a Reply

