Yesterday, I cleaned the sensor on my camera and wanted to make some test images. So, I went to the beach and while I missed the actual sunset, hung around and made some photographs. The good news was no spots.

High tide in south maui

High tide in south Maui

I try to take good care of my camera and lenses. I turn off the camera each time I change a lens to minimize the static charge of particles in the air.  I am also careful where and how I change lenses to minimize exposure to dust. TRy as I do, sometimes dust happens.  While most cameras have an internal cleaning in their menu options, there are wonderful products available to clean sensors, that include  wet and dry method.  That said I have my camera serviced at Nikon, once a year to ensure it is in peak operating condition.  In between the annual service if I notice some big chunks that don’t come out with the above mentioned tools, I take my camera to the local camera shop and have the sensor cleaned.

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in art for decor, guided photo tours, Island scenic, landscape photography, maui photo safari, maui photography workshop, Nature Photography, Nikon, paradise, photo tour and workshop, photography workshops, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

