Iconic Location in Maui is a part of the island landscape

I drive by this factory almost everyday and for years I have said to myself I should create a portrait here.  Well,  I finally did it.

Iconic Scene in Maui

Iconic Scene in Maui

While it makes a pleasant scene, it also serves to remind me that in Maui, sugar fields are burned at harvest time.  In addition to the greenery, the plastic, and pvc irrigation lines go up in smoke and pollute the air.  Dark ash comes downs out of the sky like snow covering the ground for miles and miles around.  I understand agriculture is a big part of our island an hope one day the industry introduces an alternative to burning the fields.  I would like to see this factory continue to be part of the Maui landscape as it is an iconic part of our culture, but without the fires.

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in burning cane, Decor, guided photography tours, hawaii, Island scenic, landscape photography, maui, Maui Photo tours, maui photography workshop, photography workshops, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

