Top of the Reef

top of the reef.email                                                                                    Top of the Reef

This photograph was created at Sugar Beach in Maui, earlier this year. I wanted to capture the top of an exposed reef at low tide.   So, I got as low as I could go and used a 85 mm portrait lens on a Nikon D300 body which has a 1.5 crop factor making the lens really 120 mm. I focused on the top of the reef and used a very long shutter to allow the tiny bit of water to smooth out and become a bit misty.

I love photography and enjoy trying new things, getting out of my comfort zone, and reinventing myself. While getting all sandy was not fun, exercising my creativity was.

Happy imaging everyone!

 

 

 

 

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in Decor, Gallery, Island scenic, photography workshops and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top of the Reef

  1. Very interesting way to shoot this scene… it could easily be mistaken for an aerial view of a sandstorm-swept mountain range in the desert!

Leave a Reply

