Packing for international travel

Typical amount of camera gear for a dive trip

Typical amount of camera gear for a dive trip

Next month, I am going to Fiji,  to teach a underwater photography composition workshop on the Siren liveaboard, and enjoy 5 days of diving with RA Divers at the Volovoli Beach resort in Rakiraki.  Fiji Airways used to have a divers program where the traveler paid $100 and was able to take an extra bag up to 50 pounds. This was good for round trip travel making it somewhat cost effective.  The program is over now and the airlines want $120 each way.   This added cost is not cost effective, but what can a diver do.

I have decided to bring only one camera system and to rent dive gear in Fiji.  Its a bit disconcerting to leave one camera housing behind and to use rental gear, but it is what it is.  I will take three lenses, four strobes, and a nexus housing.

What I cant get in the travel case, I will wear on my body.  I have a camera vest that will hold all of my strobe and camera batteries, spare camera body, and a few lenses.  It will be a bit of a pain, but the cash I save can be used toward a crew tip, which I feel is a much better way to use my money.   Thankfully it is only a 6 hour flight from Hawaii.

In August I will go to Tonga, and again bring only one camera system.   This is a trip dedicated to whale photography and I will not need strobes.   That saves an incredible amount of weight.

By the way there is a space open on both the Fiji trip in May, and the Tonga trip in September. IF interested send me an email.

Happy imaging everyone!

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in bucket list adventure, Decor, dive travel, Dive with a Photo Pro, fiji, Island scenic, marine, photography workshops, Travel, whales and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

