Maui’s southern coastline

Ocean Swirl

Ocean Swirl

Each week I drive around the island teaching people how to create photographs that exude an emotional response from the viewer. Most of the time I use a fish eye lens, or a 12-24 Nikon Dx lens.   Seldom if ever do I use portrait lens.  Well a few days ago I wanted to get outside my comfort zone and use a 85 mm lens.   This is one of my favorites for portraiture and I thought I might be able to create some exciting images from a different perspective.   The camera body I used was a Nikon D300 with a 1.5 crop factor.  So the 85 mm really was about 120 mm.

In addition I selected the Hi-tech neutral density 3 stop filter so I could slow the water down using a long shutter speed.   Its great when my mind can see an image, and then I am actually able to create it.   I had hoped the incoming wave would work through the rocks in a s- curve shape as the lines help the viewers eye flow through the image.  As it turned out everything worked just like I had envisioned. This image is proof that it is possible to create portraits rather than take pictures.

Happy imaging everyone!

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in Decor, Gallery, Island scenic, landscape photography, marine, photography workshops, scenic photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

