Go with the flow

While salmon swim up stream, I have learned that life has less stress when going with the flow.  This mindset saves me from frustration when on expeditions to photograph wildlife and things don’t go according to plan.

On a recent adventure in Dominica, I hoped for the best and was prepared for the worst.  I signed up to join a team of marine photographers on a permitted expedition in Dominica to photograph Sperm Whales.  Over the course of eight days we had a few encounters where the whales seemed curious, but unfortunately I was not in the water at the time.   The reason is there were six of us on the boat and we did rotations of two people at a time.

While bummed that I was not on the rotations that produced the best photo opportunities, I am  happy for the photographers that did well.   In the end this was my best Sperm Whale image.

If interested in  photographing or swimming with whales, please check out my site and consider going on a Humpback Whale trip in 2013 or 2014.

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in Decor, Gallery, Island scenic, marine, photography workshops, Travel, whales and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go with the flow

  1. Nice shot Doug… congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

