A lesson in Patience

My family and I just returned to Hawaii, having traveled to visit family in San Diego and Denver.  It was priceless for our children to have quality time with Grand Parents, Cousins, Aunts, and Uncles.  Watching the kids ice Skate, play in the snow,  see Pelicans & Seagulls and  Sea Lions was like the icing on the cake.

On the Fence

As one can imagine traveling with two small children requires a lot of patience and stuff.  Snacks, stuffed animals, blankets, stroller, three violins, camera cases, computers, books, homework, games and other goodies to keep children occupied.

Five of the flights went very smooth.  On the re-turn flight from Denver to San Diego things could have been better.  The Frontier plane we were on had a mechanical issue declared once we boarded the aircraft.  As a result we sat 2.5 hours on the tarmac.

Once the plane was ready the flight all window shades needed to be up.  I was sitting in an isle seat  in a row of three. The man in the window seat was all stretched out and sleeping.  The flight attendant asked me to tap the sleeping man on the shoulder  in order to wake him up so he could lower the window.  I did not know the man, and he was obviously deep in sleep. So,  I  released my seatbelt & closed the shade.  That was all it took to make sure that we received a very poor level of service the remainder of the flight.

Rather than get angry, I tried to  understand where this airline representative was coming from.  There was a lot of stress inside the plane coming from about  200 frustrated people.  I have to admit, I would not want that job.

As one that travels a lot, I understand the need to remove shoes, belt, & sweater,e.t.c,  in order to be safe on planes.  I accept being selected at random to stand inside a machine that scans my body, or to having my bags searched.  We live in a dangerous time and thats just the way it is.  The TSA people are doing their best to keep us safe.  What bothers me is a flight attendant telling me to touch a sleeping stranger for a reason other than a real emergency.    Perhaps I am wrong and need to learn more patience.  What do you think?

About Doug Hoffman

Portrait and underwater fine art photographer.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

